About Us

We are an independent incorporated society and registered charity, but affiliated with the national organisation Historic Places Aotearoa.

HPW aims to work in cooperation with local authorities, Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga and other organisations in the Wellington region concerned with the preservation of historic heritage. Our region includes Wellington city, Kapiti Coast, Porirua, and Hutt Valley.

The principal aims of Historic Places Wellington Incorporated are to:

  • promote the identification, protection and conservation of historic places in the Wellington region, for the benefit of communities and the general public; and
  • inform, advise and educate the public on the significance of historic heritage.

In 2011 we took over the role of the Wellington Branch Committee of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust, which has been disestablished. New Zealand Historic Places Trust is now called Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga.

You can download a copy of our 2017/18 annual plan here: HPW Annual Plan (PDF).

The current committee of HPW is: David Batchelor, Deborah Cranko, Peter Dowell, Sally Hasell, Nigel Isaacs, Christina Mackay, Vivienne Morrell, Ben Schrader, Priscilla Williams and Felicity Wong.

Office holders are:
  • Priscilla Williams, Chair
  • Felicity Wong, Vice Chair
  • Deb Cranko, Treasurer
  • Sally Hasell, Minutes Secretary

We are also on Facebook: facebook.com/historicplaceswellington. Vivienne Morrell is the administrator of this website and Facebook page.

PHOTO USE: Photos on this site from public sources are attributed to the source. Those not attributed are usually taken by committee members. Re-use for non-commercial purposes is probably fine, but we would appreciate you contacting us first (see the contact us page).